The Office of the Commissioner for Children was set up in terms of the Commissioner for Children Act of 2003, to promote the welfare of children and the compliance with the UN Convention on the rights of the child, as ratified by Malta on the 26th of January 1990, and such other international treaties, conventions or agreements relating to children as are or may be ratified or otherwise acceded to by Malta.
The work carried out by the Office focuses on: the protection of children, the promotion of children’s rights, ensuring the provision of necessary services for children, and the participation of children. The office acts as a focal point which monitors the current social and cultural situation in relation to children, such that it can contribute substantially in the co-ordination that needs to take place across all sectors in order to have policies that are child oriented.

The Commissioner

The Commissioner for Children is Ms Antoinette Vassallo who was appointed on the 1st of February 2022 for a period of three years. The Commissioner for Children strives to safeguard the best interests of all children living in Malta and Gozo.

Ms Antoinette Vassallo was born in Rabat in March 1957, she attended Primary and Secondary Government Schools. In 1975, enrolled at the Nursing School G’Mangia, graduating as State Registered Nurse [S.R.N.] in 1978.   Worked as Operating Theater Nurse in St. Luke’s and Karen Grech Hospitals until marrying in 1985 and residing in the locality of Ta’Xbiex.

Ms Vassallo is Married to  Adrian Vassallo and has 5 children;

Maximilian (born December 1985), Christian Jude (born December 1986, deceased 1988),Christian Joseph (born March 1989), Julian (born March 1991) and Adriyana (born July 1993). 

In March 1999 she contested the Local Government elections, she was elected Mayor of Ta’Xbiex and served for 14 years until 2013.

 List of appointments:

  • Board Director, Malta Communications Authority (MCA) from April 2008-February 2013.
  • Chairperson, Housing Authority from April 2013- September 2017.
  • Board Director, Malta Industrial Parks (MIP) from October 2017-October 2019.
  • Vice Chairperson of the Children And Young Persons Advisory Board (CYPAB) from June 2018-December 2018 and then appointed as Chairperson of the same board until June 2020.
  • Vice Chairperson of the Home Help Board from March 2020 till present.
  • Board member, Committee for the strengthening of the family within the Ministry (KFT) from April 2020 until present.
  • Board Member, Committee of St Vincent De Paul Long Term Care facility from April 2020.

She enjoys reading, cooking and swimming in her free time. 


Council for Children

Article 12 of the Commissioner for Children Act sets up the Council for Children which aims to assist and advise the Commissioner in the work ca​rried out by her Office. The Council for Children is chaired by the Commissioner and consists of the following members:

  • A representative appointed by the Minister responsible for the Family and Social Policy
  • A representative appointed by the Minister responsible for Health
  • A representative appointed by the Minister responsible for Education
  • A representative appointed by the Minister responsible for Home Affairs
  • A representative appointed by the Minister responsible for Justice
    The Chairperson of the Social Affairs Committee
  • A maximum of 7 children are co-opted onto the Council.

The Council for Children is required by law to meet a minimum of once every three months.